Cock-a-doodle-doo

Standard

So, we became the proud parents of a lovely boy last Friday.  My neighbor had called me earlier in the week and said that her friend had three roosters and would I like one.  Now, my well-meaning neighbor has been after me to get a roo since we moved in, lol.  We happily resisted until our (failed) batch of eggs that we tried to hatch.  We have now all (including my hubby, who was the most resistant to the idea) come on board, full steam in the urban chicken farmer train.  This is going to be fun!

Also, we went to Big R (the local farm store) and actually looked around with more purpose than “wouldn’t it be nice to someday have….”  Yes, we made an official trip to a farm store to purchase (in the very near future) actual equipment for our little urban homestead.  Isn’t it exciting?!

So, without further ado, meet our little boy (hatched on March 15th, so he’s a young’un).  There is some debate on whether he should be called Raven (his given name) or Blue Feather (his potential adopted name).  I will keep you all updated on the details as I know them.

And, here he is:

Here are our lovely girls (our boy likes older women ;))

From back to front:  Snowy, Shadow and Sunshine

We had a bit of a tussle when Raven (I’ll just call him that for now) first moved in.  It was fascinating to see him dominate so quickly.  Each of the girls took turns performing their best kung fu moves on him.  Seriously, it was like some kids action movie where the bad guys all stand around in a circle and attack the good guy one by one.  After a bit of wing flapping and flying chicken feet, he grabbed them each by their combs in turn and laid them on the ground.  The ladies didn’t come anywhere near him for awhile.  All he had to do was strut and crow and they couldn’t get out of his way fast enough.  They got over it pretty quickly, it seems cause we heard some interesting noises coming from the chicken coop later.  Bowchickawowow.  I think we might have some babies before too long.

About urbanhippiechick

I'm a mixed bag, take me or leave me. I'm a stay at home mommy and I homeschool my three kids. I'm not afraid to speak my mind. I love the idea of living simplistically, yet I can't live without my electronic gadgets. What can I say? I'm a Gemini :)

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

