New Beginnings

Standard

So, my best friend/housemate is moving on to bigger and better things.  She has a fabulous opportunity in the DC area and I’m so proud of her and excited for her.

But I’m sad too.

See, she’s lived with us for two years now and I’m going to have to adjust to her not living here anymore.  She has been a wonderful asset: faithful friend at my lowest point, confidant, surrogate auntie for my kiddos, cook, Japanese linguistics corrector (read, Japanese grammar and pronunciation Nazi :P), self-esteem picker-upper and so much more.  I tell her almost everything.

It has been fun having her live with us.  She’s fun to tease, but she can dish it out as well as she can take it.  She loves Asian food, especially Japanese.  We have been known to break out in song for just about any reason at all.  If you say something that is even the slightest hint of song lyrics, we’re apt to sing it.  If I had to choose a song that was “our song” it would have to be Bohemian Rhapsody by Queen.  That song fits just about every life circumstance you can think of.

We’ve had our moments.  She’s like my sister and as much fun as we have together, we fight sometimes too.  The best thing about her is that she loves me even when I’m being a pain in the booty as she so appropriately puts it.

I’ll miss her cackle as she’s partaking in a hearty laugh, one of her favorite things to do, I think.  I’ll miss our forays to Fred Meyer where we say and do silly things, garnering strange looks from the local shoppers.  I’ll miss teasing her about hot guys and the way she blushes when she actually sees one.

As sad as I am, I know that this is for the best, for everyone involved.  Our little family will go back to being just us.  I gain an extra bedroom and the kids are ready to sleep upstairs next to Mom and Dad again.  I feel inspired to create a schedule for the kids’ schooling.  I am back to writing again, and I am going crazy making lists and creating a budget.  I’ve been inspired to start remodeling.

So, good, bad, or indifferent, change is coming and while I may be sad about it, I’m also excited about it and looking forward to it.  As with any grieving process, some days are better than others.  Some days I feel lonely and I miss her already, others I am anxious to move on and get going with the changes.  The day will come when she is really and truly gone, but until then, I will enjoy whatever time I have left with her as I can.  And I hope that this post doesn’t embarrass her too much 😉

About urbanhippiechick

I'm a mixed bag, take me or leave me. I'm a stay at home mommy and I homeschool my three kids. I'm not afraid to speak my mind. I love the idea of living simplistically, yet I can't live without my electronic gadgets. What can I say? I'm a Gemini :)

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

