A Happy Disaster

Standard

So, this past Saturday we finally got around to having a birthday party for our youngest.  In our defense, we did have a family party for her on her actual birthday and we had just come back from vacation at the time of her birthday, so there 😛 for all you naysayers who might say we’re bad parents (well, we are sometimes, lol, but that’s beside the point).

I was so proud of myself.  Usually the way our parties go, we’re still decorating the house and the cake by the time the first guests arrive.  I planned the party at a park (mainly so I didn’t have to clean the house), we bought the decorations ahead of time, and I actually managed to make the cake the night before.  All we had to do was get up in the morning, decorate the cake, throw the decorations in the car (which I also managed to pack ahead of time),  and arrive at the park an hour early so we could snag the gazebo.

image

I had to make two batches of frosting, I’m so proud, I actually got them to match colors without even trying!!!  Booyah!!!

As we got ready to go, we realized we were short some balloon weights, and since we had gotten a helium tank to fill the balloons, that was kinda necessary.  So, I left my hubby to finish the cake and little miss and I ran to the dollar store and got some cute little island palm tree decorations to tie the balloons to.  Since she wanted tiger/jungle theme, these were perfect!

This is what I came back to:

image

My hubby is a master cake decorator.  Soooo cute!!!!

image

She loves it, mission accomplished!

image

Had to take a picture of the cute happy face.  I love making my kids happy.

We carefully packed up the cake and the kid, she was thrilled to carry her cake from the house to the car and did a superb job.  After a close call with the dog, she knew we were going to the park and wanted to jump into the car (fortunately the kid and cake weren’t in there yet), we got them both packed snugly into the car and I went off to find the rest of the kids so we could take off.

Just as I was making it back to the house, the dog took off for the neighbor’s house (phew! close call again!), I grabbed her and the neighbor wanted to give her a treat, so I waited patiently for her to come back, treats in tow.  I got Maia back to the gate and was directing her into the house, when she suddenly changed direction and made a beeline for the car PARK! PLAY! and off she went.

A blood-curdling screech arose from the car and I realized a split second too late that I had left the car door open!  Disaster!  Dog 1, Cake 0.  The poor girl didn’t stop crying until we got to the park.  This mother’s heart was broken for her and I yelled at the two boys whom I had been after in the first place to get into the car (who, by the way, knew perfectly well that we were leaving when they saw me arrive home from the dollar store) for about twenty minutes about personal responsibility and using common sense and being where you are supposed to be when you are supposed to be there so I don’t have to come looking for you.

image

We tried to fix it, but it just wasn’t the same 😦  RIP Tiger cake.

We didn’t make it to the park in time for the gazebo, which further infuriated me and incurred a fresh rain of lecturing upon the now-contrite boys (hey, like I said, sometimes I’m a bad mom).

BUT:

image

Almost all of her friends showed up…

image

Everyone ate cake and enjoyed it…

image

And she got lots of presents.

The kids all went off to the playground to play with one another (no, I didn’t play party games. hey! it was all I could do to get as much as I did done!).

There were some more birthday girl tears about her friends wanting to play with some boys who had brought water bottles and everyone was having a water war, but all-in-all I think she had a great time.

In the end she told me it was the Best. Party. Ever!  I guess it could have been worse, and if she’s happy, I should be too.  It just wasn’t perfect.  But I’ll have to be ok with that 🙂

About urbanhippiechick

I'm a mixed bag, take me or leave me. I'm a stay at home mommy and I homeschool my three kids. I'm not afraid to speak my mind. I love the idea of living simplistically, yet I can't live without my electronic gadgets. What can I say? I'm a Gemini :)

Leave a Reply

